SIGOPEN Established

We are delighted to announce the formation of SIGOPEN and the launch of

The Special Interest Group on Open Research and Practice (SIGOPEN) was chartered as an affiliated SIG of the AIS on December 13, 2014 by the Association for Information Systems Council.

SIGOPEN will provide a forum for members to discuss, develop, and promote a range of issues related to open research and practice. SIGOPEN is designed to be inclusive of researchers investigating and engaging in a wide variety of open phenomena and practices, but will initially focus on three core areas of interest:

  • Peer Production of Knowledge Goods e.g. open source software, hardware, content and design; collaborative economy; sharing society; corporate influence; social change; modes of distribution; etc.
  • Collective Intelligence, Action and Resources e.g. open innovation; the wisdom/wealth/power of crowds; social media in extreme events; citizen science; volunteer computing; crowdsourcing/funding; etc.
  • Open Science and Education e.g. open data/access; publishing and data management conflicts; open teaching and learning; micro-scholarship; open peer-review; etc.

The Mission of SIGOPEN is to support and promote:

  • The development and sharing of knowledge and research resources among AIS members and the larger community of practitioners and scholars.
  • Research related to IT enabled open phenomena among AIS members and the larger community of practitioners and scholars.
  • The practice of open approaches to the development and dissemination of scientific knowledge among AIS members and the larger community of practitioners and scholars.
  • Open education and learning activities among AIS members and the larger community of practitioners and scholars.

Stay Informed and Get Involved

Over the coming weeks we’ll be populating the site with more information about SIGOPEN, and will be importing and expanding existing resources from and elsewhere.

Keep visiting back or follow us at to stay aware of developments and to get the conversation started.

SIGOPEN also maintains an email list, open to all, for the discussion, development, and promotion of issues related to open research and practice. To subscribe to the SIGOPEN email list visit:

Finally for SIG membership information, please visit the Association for Information Systems. We should have our SIG integrated with the AIS systems shortly.

More soon,

Joe, on behalf of the Founding Members of SIGOPEN

  1. (PRESIDENT) Dr. Joseph Feller, University College Cork, IRELAND.
  2. (PRESIDENT ELECT) Prof Matt Germonprez, University of Nebraska at Omaha, USA.
  3. (SECRETARY) Dr. Matthew Levy, San Francisco State University, USA
  4. (TREASURER) Dr. Lorraine Morgan, LERO/NUI Galway, IRELAND
  5. Prof Pär J. Ågerfalk, Uppsala University, SWEDEN
  6. Dr. JP Allen, University of San Francisco, USA
  7. Dr. Pavel Andreev, University of Ottawa, CANADA
  8. Prof Michel Avital, Copenhagen Business School, DENMARK
  9. Prof Magnus Bergquist, University of Gothenburg, SWEDEN
  10. Dr. Michael Cahalane, UNSW Business School, AUSTRALIA
  11. Prof Kieran Conboy, NUI Galway, IRELAND
  12. Prof Tony Cornford, London School of Economics and Political Science, UK
  13. Prof Kevin Crowston, US National Science Foundation/Syracuse University, USA
  14. Dr. Sherae Daniel, University of Pittsburgh, USA
  15. Prof Brian Donnellan, NUI Maynooth, IRELAND
  16. Dr. U. Yeliz Eseryel, University of Groningen, NETHERLANDS
  17. Prof Pat Finnegan, UNSW Business School, AUSTRALIA
  18. Prof Brian Fitzgerald, LERO/University of Limerick, IRELAND
  19. Dr. Rob Gleasure, University College Cork, IRELAND
  20. Dr. Sean Hansen, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
  21. Scott A. Hissam, Software Engineering Institute, USA
  22. Prof Dirk Hovorka, University of Sydney, AUSTRALIA
  23. Dr. James Howison, University of Texas at Austin, USA
  24. Prof Julie Kendall, Rutgers University, School of Business-Camden, USA
  25. Prof Kenneth E. Kendall, Rutgers University, School of Business-Camden, USA
  26. Dr. Juho Lindman, Hanken School of Economics, Finland
  27. Prof Jan Ljungberg, University of Gothenburg, SWEDEN
  28. Prof Björn Lundell, University of Skövde, SWEDEN
  29. Prof Lars Mathiassen, Georgia State University, USA
  30. Prof Jae Yun Moon, Korea University Business School, KOREA
  31. Dr. Jeff Moretz, University of Ontario Institute of Technology, CANADA
  32. Prof Jeff Nickerson, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
  33. Prof Jeffrey Parsons, Memorial University of Newfoundland, NEWFOUNDLAND
  34. Dr. Kai Riemer, Business School, University of Sydney, AUSTRALIA
  35. Prof Matti Rossi, Aalto University, FINLAND
  36. Dr. Daniel Schlagwein, UNSW Business School, UNSW, AUSTRALIA
  37. Dr. Maha Shaikh, Warwick Business School, UK
  38. Dr. Klaas-Jan Stol, LERO/University of Limerick, IRELAND
  39. Prof Robin Teigland, Stockholm School of Economic Stockholm, SWEDEN
  40. Dr. Brett Young, Georgia Gwinnett College, USA